Skip to content

Ten South Dakota Students Nominated by Rounds to Begin Studies at U.S. Service Academies

Deadline for Class of 2024 applications due Oct. 1, 2019

PIERRE—U.S. Sen. Mike Rounds (R-S.D.) today announced that ten South Dakota students he nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Military Academy and the U.S. Air Force Academy have been accepted to be members of the Class of 2023 at their respective academies. He also announced that his office is currently accepting nomination applications for the Class of 2024. Applications must be submitted by October 1, 2019. More information on the nomination process can be found HERE.


The following students were nominated by Rounds and will join the 2019-2020 freshman class at their respective academies.


U.S. Naval Academy

Jack Elliott, Sioux Falls

Kyras Fort, Box Elder

Gavin West, Piedmont

Marita Schmitz, Rapid City


U.S. Military Academy

Bryn Ellwein, Sioux Falls

Henry Jensen, Dakota Dunes


U.S. Air Force Academy

Haley Deome, Ramstein Air Base

Aiden Diedrich, Sioux Falls

Sierra Hillard, Whitewood

Connor Hoback, Harrisburg


Each year, Sen. Rounds is able to nominate South Dakota students to the U.S. service academies. Each academy then gives full and fair consideration to these nominations when selecting applicants. Questions about the academy nomination application process can be directed to our Sioux Falls office by calling (605) 336-0486 or by emailing