Skip to content

Rounds, Thune Work with Bipartisan Colleagues to Reintroduce Year-Round E15 Legislation

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Mike Rounds (R-S.D.) and John Thune (R-S.D.) joined Senator Deb Fischer (R-Neb.) in reintroducing the Consumer and Fuel Retailer Choice Act. This bipartisan legislation aims to allow the year-round, nationwide sale of ethanol blends higher than 10 percent. If passed into law, this bill would end years of regulatory uncertainty and prevent a patchwork approach of uneven state regulations. Increasing the availability of biofuels like E15 would benefit the economy, environment and consumers.

“Securing year-round access to E15 is common sense, and this bill is the best way to achieve that goal,” said Rounds. “This bipartisan legislation not only supports South Dakota producers and consumers, it also provides our country with stability in the market and greater energy independence. I am pleased to work with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to make this a permanent, lower-cost option for drivers in South Dakota and across the country.”

“American drivers have enjoyed year-round access to cleaner and more affordable E15 fuel for four years, and it’s time to make this permanent,” said Thune. “I’m proud to support this legislation that would give South Dakota farmers and fuel retailers the certainty they need to offer E15 fuel without seasonal disruption and provide consumers with this lower-cost fuel option.”

“Our bipartisan legislation is the only permanent, nationwide solution to unleashing the power of year-round E15,” said Fischer. “It’s why we’ve been able to bring together a diverse group of stakeholders from the oil/gas, biofuel, ag, and transportation sectors to support our legislation. Negating the need for a patchwork of regulations will ensure all Americans can enjoy lower costs at the pump. With this unique coalition of support, I’m more optimistic than ever that we can make year-round E15 a reality.” 

The Consumer and Fuel Retailer Choice Act is endorsed by the National Corn Growers Association, National Farmers Union, the America Farm Bureau Federation, National Council of Farmer Cooperatives, Renewable Fuels Association, Growth Energy, American Coalition for Ethanol, American Petroleum Institute, SIGMA, National Association of Truck Stop Operators and National Association of Convenience Stores.

This legislation is cosponsored by Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa) and John Hoeven (R-N.D.).

Companion legislation was also introduced in the House of Representatives by Representatives Adrian Smith (R-Neb.) and Angie Craig (D-Minn.).

Click HERE for full bill text.


Related Issues