Skip to content

Nine South Dakota Students Nominated by Rounds Starting at U.S. Service Academies

Deadline for Class of 2025 applications is Oct. 1, 2020

PIERRE—U.S. Sen. Mike Rounds (R-S.D.) announced that nine South Dakota students he nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Military Academy and the U.S. Air Force Academy have been accepted to be members of the Class of 2024 at their respective academies. He also announced that his office is currently accepting nomination applications for the Class of 2025. Applications must be submitted by October 1, 2020. More information on the nomination process can be found HERE

The following students were nominated by Rounds and are joining the 2020-2021 freshman class at their respective academies.


 U.S. Naval Academy

Madeline Loewe, Lennox

Eleanor “Ellie” Abraham, Brookings

Julia Lair, Sioux Falls 


U.S. Military Academy

Isaac Buchholtz, Pierre

Max Martin, Sioux Falls

Taylor O’Brien, USMA Prep School (Resident of South Dakota)


U.S. Air Force Academy

Corwyn “Ethan” Wipf, Rapid City

Pierce Okken, Sioux Falls

Zachary Curd, Sioux Falls


Each year, Sen. Rounds is able to nominate South Dakota students to the U.S. service academies. Each academy then gives full and fair consideration to these nominations when selecting applicants. Questions about the academy nomination application process can be directed to Rounds’ Sioux Falls office by calling (605) 336-0486 or by emailing