Skip to content

8 South Dakota Students Nominated by Rounds in Class of 2022 at U.S. Service Academies

Deadline for Class of 2023 applications due Oct. 1, 2018

PIERRE—U.S. Sen. Mike Rounds (R-S.D.) today announced that eight South Dakota students he nominated to the U.S. Service Academies have been accepted and are currently in the Class of 2022. He also announced that his office is now accepting applications for the Class of 2023. Those applications must be submitted by Oct. 1, 2018. More information about the academy application process can be found here.


The following students were nominated by Rounds and are currently in the class of 2022 at their respective academies:


U.S. Naval Academy

Jennifer Chatwell, Sioux Falls

Silvanus “Silas” Diaz, Rapid City

Justice West, Piedmont


U.S. Military Academy

Cain Lounsbery, Brookings

Coby Mack, Rapid City

Jayden Pittmann, Baltic


U.S. Air Force Academy

Caleb Carnes, Beresford

Ryan Habeck, Ft. Pierre


Additionally, Rounds nominated Tessa Kimbler of Aberdeen to the U.S. Naval Academy and the U.S. Air Force Academy and she chose to attend the U.S. Military Academy. He also nominated Ryan Berry of Sioux Falls to the U.S. Military Academy and he chose to attend the U.S. Coast Guard Academy as a member of the Class of 2023.


Each year, Rounds is able to nominate South Dakota students to the U.S. service academies. Each academy then gives full and fair consideration to these nominations when selecting applicants. Questions about the academy nomination application process can be directed to our Sioux Falls office by calling (605) 336-0486 or by emailing