Skip to content

We Have Beef with the Packers

We have a big problem – well, four to be exact. Consumers are paying way too much for beef at the grocery store. Meanwhile, our independent cattle producers - who we rely on to feed the world - are going broke.

Between the consumer and the producer sit four large beef packing companies that control over 80% of the processing market. These four packers seemingly are able to control prices at their will, and thus have realized significant profits, while both U.S. beef consumers and independent cattle producers pay the price.

The time has come to fix this. We are launching a bipartisan, nationwide effort to defend our consumers and cattlemen. We have announced that we will be sending a letter to the Department of Justice (DOJ) asking them to examine whether the control meatpackers have of the beef processing market violates U.S. antitrust laws. We are asking members of Congress - House and Senate, Republican and Democrat - to support this effort.

We need your help. Please call your Member of Congress and ask them to join our letter to protect consumers and cattle producers. The Congressional Switchboard can be reached at: (202) 224-3121 


Current Sponsors

  • Senator Mike Rounds (R - South Dakota)
  • Senator Tina Smith (D - Minnesota)
  • Senator Cory Booker (D - New Jersey)
  • Senator Steve Daines (R - Montana)
  • Senator Cynthia Lummis (R - Wyoming)
  • Senator Jon Tester (D - Montana)
  • Senator Josh Hawley (R - Missouri)
  • Senator Angus King (I - Maine)
  • Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R - Mississippi)
  • Senator Ron Wyden (D - Oregon)
  • Senator Chuck Grassley (R - Iowa)
  • Senator Roger Wicker (R - Mississippi)
  • Senator Joni Ernst (R - Iowa)
  • Senator Mike Braun (R - Indiana)
  • Senator Mark Kelly (D - Arizona)
  • Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D - Nevada)
  • Representative Warren Davidson (R - Ohio)
  • Representative Yvette Herrell (R - New Mexico)
  • Representative Tom Reed (R - New York)
  • Representative Andy Barr (R - Kentucky)
  • Representative Paul Gosar (R - Arizona)
  • Representative Louie Gohmert (R - Texas)
  • Representative Neal Dunn (R - Florida)
  • Representative Mary Miller (R - Illinois)
  • Representative Ro Khanna (D - California)
  • Representative Jason Smith (R - Missouri)
  • Representative Bob Good (R - Virginia)
  • Representative Mark Pocan (D - Wisconsin)