## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

December 18, 2023

The Honorable Janet Yellen Secretary U.S. Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20220 Ms. Andrea Gacki Director Financial Crimes Enforcement Network 2070 Chain Bridge Road Vienna, VA 22182

Dear Secretary Yellen and Director Gacki:

On behalf of the millions of small businesses in our states, we write to you today with significant concerns regarding the implementation of the beneficial ownership reporting requirements under the Corporate Transparency Act (CTA). The CTA requires most corporations, limited liability companies, and other entities created in or registered to do business in the United States to regularly report information about their beneficial owners—the persons who ultimately own or control the company, to the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) beginning on January 1, 2024.<sup>1</sup>

While the goal of this new law is to target shell companies involved in illicit financial transactions, the CTA defines covered entities as those having 20 or fewer employees and under \$5 million in revenue. In other words, not just shell companies, but <u>nearly every small business</u> in America.

Effective January 1<sup>st</sup>, small businesses will be required to provide the personal information of their beneficial owners – owners, board members, senior management, legal representation – and continue to monitor and report this information to FinCEN to ensure that it is current and up-to-date or they will face civil and criminal penalties.<sup>2</sup> According to FinCEN estimates, more than 32 million separate reports are expected to be filed in 2024, with an additional five to six million filings each year thereafter.<sup>3</sup>

Unfortunately, FinCEN is woefully behind in educating small business owners and stakeholders of their new obligations under the CTA that begin in just a few short weeks. In fact, a National

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> 31 CFR 1010.380.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> https://www.fincen.gov/beneficial-ownership-information-reporting-rule-fact-sheet

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> https://home.treasury.gov/system/files/266/13.-FinCEN-FY-2024-BIB.pdf

Federation of Independent Business (NFIB) survey found that 90 percent of respondents were *entirely unfamiliar* with these reporting requirements.<sup>4</sup> Even more concerning is that the CTA has civil and criminal penalties of up to \$10,000 and two years of jail time for failure to comply.<sup>5</sup>

This lack of awareness and education is alarming and must be addressed before the law is implemented. Dozens of organizations, representing millions of small businesses operating in every state and community across the country, have already publicly expressed their strong support for delaying implementation of the beneficial ownership information (BOI) reporting requirements by one year.

Further, FinCEN has yet to finalize the two final BOI rulemakings that are critical to protecting small businesses' personal information. These include the "Access Rule," and the "Customer Due Diligence Rule". As you know, the Access Rule specifies the parameters around which the database can be accessed, the purposes for which the information can be used, and how the highly sensitive information will be protected. The Customer Due Diligence Rule is critical to make sure BOI would not result in a duplicative reporting regime for small businesses.

Therefore, we strongly request that FinCEN delay the January 1, 2024, effective date for all BOI requirements by a minimum of one year which will give FinCEN adequate time to finalize all outstanding rulemakings. Additionally, we believe a year's delay will provide FinCEN and the business community with more time to educate small business owners of their new reporting obligations.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this important matter.

Sincerely,

Patrick McHenry

Member of Congress

Warren Davidson

Member of Congress

Rick Scott

**United States Senator** 

M. Michael Rounds

United States Senator

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> https://www.nfib.com/foundations/research-center/

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> 31 CFR 1010.380.



Frank Lucas Member of Congress



Member of Congress



Blaine Luetkemeyer Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

Ann Wagner Member of Congress

Andy Barr Member of Congress

Roger Williams
Member of Congress



Mike Crapo United States Senator

Thom Tillis
United States Senator

John Kennedy United States Senator

Bill Hagerty
United States Senator

Cynthia M. Lummis
United States Senator

Jb Vance United States Senator

Katie Boyd Britt
United States Senator

Kevin Cramer United States Senator

French Hill Member of Congress

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

Alexander X. Mooney Member of Congress

John Rose Member of Congress

Bryan Steil Member of Congress

William Timmons Member of Congress **Steve Daines** 

**United States Senator** 

John Thune United States Senator

ohn Barrasso John Barrasso, M.D.

**United States Senator** 

Joni K. Ernst **United States Senator** 

Shelley Moore Capito **United States Senator** 

Shelley Moore apito

James E. Risch **United States Senator** 

Ted Cruz **United States Senator**  Ralph Norman Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress

Scott Fitzgerald Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

Mike Flood Member of Congress Jerry Moran

Jerry Moran United States Senator

Ron Johnson United States Senator

Mike Lee United States Senator

Deb Fischer United States Senator

Det Dieder

James Lankford United States Senator

Du Sull

Dan Sullivan United States Senator

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

Cendy Hyle-Snith

Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress

Zach Nunn Member of Congress

Monica De La Cruz Member of Congress

Erin Houchin Member of Congress

Andy Ogles
Member of Congress

Tracey Mann
Member of Congress

Mike Braun

Mike Braun United States Senator

Roger Marshall, MD United States Senator

Ted Budd United States Senator

Pete Ricketts United States Senator

Randy Weber Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress Dlem Grothmun

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

Chuck Edwards
Member of Congress

Russell Fry Member of Congress

Chip Roy Member of Congress

Sam Graves Member of Congress

Clay Higgins Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarger

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress John Junes

Jake La Turner Member of Congress

Brad Finstad Member of Congress

John Moolenaar Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

Ben Cline

Member of Congress

Rudy Yakym III Member of Congress

Virginia Foxx Member of Congress

Bruce Westermann Member of Congress

Juan Ciscomani Member of Congress

Maria Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Brett Guthrie Member of Congress Earl L. "Buddy" Carter

Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Tom Tiffany

Member of Congress